82.9 F
Fort Smith
Sunday, May 26, 2024

MHS Alumni Scholarships Awarded


Mansfield Alumni Board President Larry Stanfill took to the podium on Saturday, May 4 to welcome attendees, and to announce this year’s alumni scholarship recipients.

Before announcing the recipients, Stanfill introduced the board members: Linda Udouj, secretary/ treasurer; Treva Mathis, the longest serving board member; Theresa Whiley, Taley Dedmon, Vicki Hall, Michael Elmore, Cheryl Davis and Terry Williams. “We are thankful for these volunteers who bleed red and white,” shared Stanfill.

Stanfill noted that the scholarship is supported by tax deductible donations and memorials collected through the year. “We had seven qualified applicants. This made our decision hard. Our criteria are based on academics, school activities and financial need. We are able to offer scholarships of $500 per semester for up to eight semesters per student. I believe we currently have three students receiving the scholarships in addition to the three we are announcing today.”

Peyton Martin: He is the son of Daniel and Summer Martin. Peyton plans to attend U of A Rich Mountain and major in advanced manufacturing welding. 

Zachary Hayslip: He is the son of Trent and Wendy Hayslip. He plans to attend UAFS and major in computer science.

Alexis Chestine: is the daughter of Salem Bock and Ronald Chestine. She plans to attend UofA in Fayetteville and major in biology.

Cole Smith: Chris Campbell presented a $500 scholarship from the Campbell Family Revocable Trust in memory of Donald L. Ranz class of 1963.

Raine Hecox: received $500 Scott County Cattleman’s Scholarship for Mansfield. Linda Udouj presented the scholarship.

- Paid Partnership -spot_imgspot_img
Tammy Teague
Tammy Teague
Tammy is the heart behind the brand. Her tenacity to curate authentic journalism, supported by a genuine heart is one her many wholesome qualities.
Latest news
- Paid Advertisement -spot_img
- Paid Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img