74.6 F
Fort Smith
Friday, June 21, 2024

Sports and Academic awards week at LHS


Yesterday May 16 2019, was a very busy day at the Lavaca High School. The senior class of 2019 made their “graduation walk” through the halls of the elementary school. They also had graduation practice, year end awards assembly, and ended with the annual Lavaca Golden Arrow Sports Banquet.

As the graduates made their walk, the elementary students cheered them on and wished them well. As pride swelled up inside each of these seniors, it is left to wonder if they realized just how far they have come since the days that they sat in these halls cheering on past seniors. For some, “I cant believe this day is finally here”, others “Thank God… I made it”, others still “ where did the time go?” Some may be glad to be done, while others are saddened that its about to be over. All of them, however, have much to be proud of. They have accomplished, they have persevered, they have overcome. They walk through the halls of the elementary school deserving of the honor and respect that was duly shown to them.

After the walk, LHS held their annual awards assembly today. There were ten seniors who received Honor Stoles. There were also, countless other student awards that were given. Mrs. Rita Perry was also recognized for her years of service by John Thurston, a representative for Arkansas Secretary of State, as this year’s Teacher of the Year. Congrats to all!

A busy day ended with the Annual Lavaca Golden Arrow Sports Banquet. Lavaca sports cleaned up this year and the bling was passed around in mass. The Golden Arrows brought home two State championships this year, Cheer and Bowling. There were numerous individual awards.

Volleyball – Jessica Flanagan, Hannah Parsons, and Hope Headley were All State. Hope Headley was named to the All State tournament team. Hope Headley was named as an All Star. Jessica Flanagan, Hannah Parsons, Hope Headley, Abrie Rainwater, and Abby Glidewell made All Conference.

Football – had one make All State – Trevon “ T Man” Moore and four make All Conference – Jimmy Hall, Mason Walters, Tyler Armistead, and Trey Werner.

Girls Basketball – All five starters, Sierra Lamb, Avery Green, Skylar Hyatt, Beth Ann May, and Hope Headley make All-Conference. Hope Headley also made All-State and was named to the All-State tournament team.

Boys Basketball – All five starters, Jordan Fenner, Mark Miller, Jayger Wagner, Andrew Wright, and Matt Melton, made All Conference. Jordan Fenner also made All State.

Bowling – Jessica Flanagan is the 1,2,3A State Champion and made All State

Cheer – Rylie Green was named All State and Morgan Taylor made All Star.

Softball – All Conference awards go to Kinzee Jo Brown, Sierra Lamb, Jessica Flanagan, Briana Winchester, Brooklynn O’Kelley, and BethAnn May. Two All State awards go to BethAnn May and
Brianna Winchester. BethAnn May was also named to the All State tournament team and an All Star Nominee.

Baseball – Jimmy Hall was All State and was named to the All State tournament team. There were also five players who made All Conference. They are Jimmy Hall, Kaw-Liga Brewer, Colby Clunn, Jayger Wagner, and Trey Caster.

- Paid Partnership -spot_imgspot_img
Resident News Network
Resident News Networkhttps://residentnewsnetwork.com
Locally owned, locally focused news + sports source for the Arkansas River Valley.
Latest news
- Paid Advertisement -spot_img
- Paid Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img