74.3 F
Fort Smith
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Greenwood Native Named Physician of the Year


On September 7, the Fort Smith Chamber of Commerce announced the 2020 Physician of the Year, Dr. Lee Johnson.

“I was surprised and honored by the recognition,” shared Johnson. “It was unexpected and much appreciated. I’m grateful to the Fort Smith Chamber for all they do to support the healthcare industry in the River Valley. We’re fortunate to have so many great healthcare workers in our region. There is no place I’d rather work and live. Truly blessed.” 

The award is based on the physician’s community commitment and contributions. Johnson currently serves as an ER physician and as EMS Medical Director.

Johnson and his wife Dr. Jennifer Johnson have three children, and are proud to call Greenwood home. Johnson volunteers within the school district, serving as a physician for the Greenwood Bulldogs Athletics Program.

Johnson also serves as State Representative for District 75, which includes portions of Sebastian and Crawford Counties. For the 92nd General Assembly, Representative Johnson serves on the House Public Health, Welfare and Labor Committee and the House City, County and Local Affairs Committee.

Johnson graduated with his M.D. from the University of Arkansas Medical School. He also attended Hendrix College where he graduated with his Bachelor of Arts. He attended Boy’s State while he attended Greenwood High School. Rep. Johnson was previously elected to the Greenwood City Council from 2008 to 2018. He has also served on the State Board of Health.

- Paid Partnership -spot_imgspot_img
Tammy Teague
Tammy Teague
Tammy is the heart behind the brand. Her tenacity to curate authentic journalism, supported by a genuine heart is one her many wholesome qualities.
Latest news
- Paid Advertisement -spot_img
- Paid Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img